Disturbing the Peace Charges Defense in Michigan
Disturbing the Peace is a charge typically governed by local ordinance. As a result, the exact definition varies from townships or cities. Generally, if you have been charged with Disturbing the Peace, you can been charged with creating a disturbance. Excessive noise is often associated with the charge.
(Related: Minor In Possession)
While the penalties and fines will vary based on the local ordinance, the penalty for a “disturbing the peace conviction” in Michigan will generally be around 93 days in jail and/or a $500.00 fine. If convicted, it will also become part of your criminal record.
(Related: Simple Assault)
Per MCL 750.170, Disturbing the Peace is defined as: Disturbance of lawful meetings—Any person who causes or excites a disturbance or contention in any bar, store or grocery, manufacturing establishment or any other business place or in any street, lane, alley, highway, public building, grounds or park, or at any election or other public meeting where citizens are assembled peaceably and lawfully, will be guilty of a misdemeanor.
If you have been charged with Disturbing the Peace, call us today for a free consultation at (248) 935-9074.
(Related: Careless Driving In Michigan)
At Rudoi Law, we know how to fight Disturbing the Peace charges. We will present the serious, aggressive defense you need. Our experience with the local legal environment can help us define a legal strategy that works best for you and your need for a fair and fast resolution.
GET REPRESENTATION NOW