Hire a Qualified Assault Charges Defense
There are a number of misconceptions and misunderstandings of the word “assault”. While we are quick to pair the word “assault” with images of brutality and blood, the simple reality is that the Michigan assault law is so all-encompassing that you could face up to 93 days in jail, a $500.00 fine, probation, and a damaged future for something as innocent as trying to kiss someone on the lips.
(Related: DUI First Offense)
An assault conviction, under Michigan law, does not require that you physically touch someone. In fact, you could be convicted of a misdemeanor assault simply because the other person mistakenly thought you were trying to touch them, even if you had no intention of ever touching them. It is important to note that the penalties are significantly more severe if you have previous convictions.
(Related: Misdemeanor Probation Violation)
If you or someone you know is accused of Simple Assault it is imperative that you act swiftly and secure representation from a quality Oakland County criminal defense attorney. A conviction will give you a permanent criminal record that can be devastating to your future. At Rudoi Law, we know how to fight Simple Assault charges. We will present the serious, aggressive defense you need. Our experience with the local legal environment can help us define a legal strategy that works best for you and your need for a fair and fast resolution.
(Related: Minor In Possession)
GET REPRESENTATION NOW